…..Tilting (Newfoundland)

....Tilting

“that is so Mr Larry”
This is an oil painting I recently completed ….. Tilting (Newfoundland)…for a very very very special friend…. Let us just call him Mr Larry… a transplanted Eastern Canadian who long ago found his way to the Lower West Coast of British Columbia….

Mr Larry has had a profound and wonderful influence upon my life… This painting is my gift of gratefulness, found in my certain contentment, as to our friendship… Mr Larry, has the most wonderful infectious zest for life… and is a true gift giver… Wise, Thoughtful and Sturdy…

About This Painting
This painting was inspired by the wonderful book (Tilting) we by chance uncovered while rummaging through a little book store in Port Coquitlam…. The book is a historical review as to a very special place in Newfoundland called, Tilting. Written by Robert Mellin… stories of House Launching, Slide Hauling, Potato Trenching, and other tales from a Newfoundland fishing village….a most wonderful read…

Commissioned By
Mr Larry… just as you have asked of me, but never written or spoken in words…. YES…It is painted just for you and you only… for your “Minds Eye”… the oils and oil colors were chosen as to your mind triggers… be they thick or carefully scraped…the capes and the oceans are just as your mind knows them… its artistic eloquence is just as you enjoy… the blend of three different styles in presentation….even the angle of view is set…chosen exactly as to your minds eye… There is not a flaw found in this artistic expression as to your mind…. Even the flaws are carefully painted in and are perfectly You….

Mr Larry… You will lean in the many hours upon its study as well as upon the quick glance……. you are known… Known to me…. it is the Tilting…. I so often found myself with a big smile as i carefully placed a brush stoke… “that is so Mr Larry”…. This gave me the greatest thrill in doing the painting…. You truly have cultivated a great mind…. know this to be true…

A Word Of Thank You
Thank you both, Mr Robert Mellin and Mr Larry… for the wonderful hours i enjoyed in work upon this artistic inspiration…. I do not want to let it go…. it has become very dear to me…but let it go i must…

All my Love… Tiandra…


About this entry